document : Wade Young Claims Second Consecutive Castrol Winterberg Enduro Victory

Wade Young Claims Second Consecutive Castrol Winterberg Enduro Victory
information supplied by: ET.Komm 16 September 2013


The 17-year old Wade Young claimed his second consecutive Castrol Winterberg Enduro victory when he won this fifth and penultimate round of the 2013 Liquorland SA National Enduro Motorcycle Championship in the Patensie area in the Gamtoos Valley in the Eastern Cape. Young, racing for Team Husaberg Alfie Cox Racing, made sure his name is engraved in the record books of this historic event as well for the 2013 season after claiming his third victory for the year.
Young won all six of the special timed stages of a tough and testing 38th Castrol Winterberg Enduro and ensured the 2013 overall title with one round to go. He has also clinched the E2 (200cc) Championship title for the first time after competing on senior level for only two years.
Young enjoyed the race that was described by most competitors as ‘tough and demanding’ and is happy to have won this special event (his 2012 Castrol Winterberg Enduro victory was his first national enduro championship victory) again – even though he crashed on the last lap.
Altus de Wet (Husqvarna Racing) won the E1 (Open Class) for the fourth consecutive race and finished second overall, 154 points (seconds) behind Young with the 19-year old Port Elizabeth rider, Timmy Young (Kargo Racing Yamaha) – no relation to Wade – claiming his best result of the enduro season by finishing third overall (second in E1), 102 points behind De Wet despite experiencing clutch problems during the race. Timmy Young was just 49 points ahead of Kenny Gilbert (Proudly Bidvest Yamaha) who rounded off the E1 podium and finished fourth overall. Gilbert fell during one of the special stages (he can still not understand how it happened...) and lost some valuable time. The battle for the E1 Championship will go down to the wire as Gilbert is now leading this championship standings with only two points separating him from second-placed De Wet (De Wet could not score points at the season opener).
Gilbert’s team-mate, Marc Torlage, could unfortunately not finish the race due to a back injury. Bronson Louw (Criterion Yamaha Portable Shade) is competing on national level for the first season and also scored his best result by finishing second in E2 and fifth overall after a race where the dry route deteriorated towards the end. Louw was only 29 points ahead of the scholar Brett Swanepoel (Team JOAT ccGallery KTM) who finished third in E2, but also lost time recovering from a tumble over the handle bars during the last special stage. James Hodson (Team Liquorland Yamaha) was fourth in E2 and finished seventh overall with Michael Pentecost (Kargo Racing Yamaha) a mere two points behind in eighth place (fifth in E2).
A broken engine casing prevented the Sherco Racing scholar, Blake Gutzeit – younger brother of the multiple champion, Jade – from completing the previous event, but he came back with a vengeance to finish his first Castrol Winterberg Enduro in ninth place overall (sixth in E2). Veteran competitor, Darryl Curtis (Brother Broadlink KTM) made a welcome come-back to the enduro championship after recovering from an injury sustained during the Dakar Rally in January. He competed for the first time this season and finished fourth in E1 and 10th overall. He was the leading Brother Broadlink KTM rider and was followed by his young team-mate, Louw Schmidt (11th overall and seventh in E2) with former Castrol Winterberg Enduro winner from Port Elizabeth, Juan ‘Bollie’ van Rooyen 14th overall (seventh in E1) after getting stuck in a mud hole.
Dwayne Kleynhans (KTM) and Wesley Redinger (Husaberg) were sandwiched between Schmidt and Van Rooyen and were 12th overall (fifth in E1) and 13th (sixth in E1) respectively with Roan Lindsay (NUTS Racing/ Century Civils Yamaha) in 15th place (eighth in E1).
Also in the top 20 were Dalan Hall (RBS Yamaha) who was 16th (eighth in E2); Team Liquorland Racing Yamaha’s Nick Wade who finished 17th overall (ninth in E1) after experiencing brake problems; Darren Gray (P Trimborn Husaberg) who finished 18th overall (10th in E1) with a swollen hand after a bee stung him and the two scholars competing in E2, Ross Blackwell (Kargo Racing KTM) who was 19th and Brendan Swanevelder (Team Brother SA KTM) who competed in his first full national enduro event and finished 20th (10th in E2).
As expected the battle in the Senior Class Championship continued between the defending champion, William ‘Wild Will’ Gillitt (Team Liquorland Racing Yamaha) and Bruce May (Yamaha). After racing side by side for the best part of the race, it was Gillitt who scored a hat-trick when he beat May by a mere 14 points (seconds). May beat Gillitt twice after the shorter seven kilometre special stage where the sandy conditions suited him while Gillitt, who crashed hard and even lost a filling in his tooth, was again faster in the longer nine kilometre rocky stage. This battle is not over yet and with only 11 points separating them now, they will have to face each other again at the final event on 19 October.
The consistent Jody Engelbrecht (Husaberg Alfie Cox Racing) rounded off the podium again with former national off-road Special Vehicle champion, Franz Czepeck Jr (Nomadik Tents KTM) finishing fourth and Matthew Barker (FDBR Racing Yamaha) fifth.
There were three more finishers in the Senior Class after a gruelling race where fitness played a huge role. Peter Jung (KTM) was sixth; Stephen Botha (Yamaha) finished seventh and Reinhardt van der Merwe (Eddie2Race KTM) finished eighth.
All six starters in the Master Class completed the race with Marc’s dad, Denzil Torlage (Proudly Bidvest Yamaha) winning for the third time this season and claiming the Master Class Championship title for the fifth consecutive time. He took sweet revenge on the winner of the previous event, Garth Prost (KTM) who had to settle for second place although both took a stage victory. Otto Horlacher (Husaberg) rounded off the podium with John Petrie (FDBR Racing Husqvarna) finishing fourth; Neil van der Ross (Nomadik Tents / MCI Honda) was fifth while Carl Rohrbeck (Husaberg) kept his second place in the championship standings by finishing sixth.
Damien Scott (Criterion Yamaha Portable Shade) completed his first Castrol Winterberg Enduro and did so with a fourth victory in the Silver Class Challenge where the battle between himself and second place Sage McGregor (Peri Wildcoast KTM Ribco UMSO KTM) will go down to the wire at the final race. McGregor is still being plagued by a collarbone injury and had to settle for third place with Brandon Petrie (FDBR Racing Yamaha) claiming the second place. Matthew van Niekerk (KTM) was fourth with Craig McGregor (KTM) rounding off the top five.
The final round of the Liquorland Enduro Motorcycle Championship will take place on 19 October at Matatiele in the Eastern Cape.

Wade Young Claims Second Consecutive Castrol Winterberg Enduro Victory.docx (143kB)

Complete Release: Wade Young Claims Second Consecutive Castrol Winterberg Enduro (1,245kB)

 2 images

Tags | Zipped Releases | ET.Komm |