document : Off-road Leaders Gilbert (bikes) and Meyer (quads) win again

Off-road Leaders Gilbert (bikes) and Meyer (quads) win again
information supplied by: ET.Komm 12 August 2013

10 August 2013 – The current leaders in the motorcycle and quad categories of the 2013 SA National Off-road Championship, Kenny Gilbert (Proudly Bidvest Yamaha) and Jurie Meyer (Yamaha Support), have strengthened their respective leads with victories at the GOC Rysmierbult National Off-road, the penultimate round of the season that took place in the Ventersdorp area in the North West Province.
Gilbert (bikes), who scored his second victory of the season and Meyer, the defending quad title holder who claimed his third win, posted almost the same times over the 180 kilometre route, but they had not too much time to spare to their opposition. On two wheels Ruan Roberts (Yamaha), who is chasing Gilbert for the overall title as well as the OR1 (Open Class) Championship, finished a mere 32 seconds behind Gilbert while John Aylward (Yamaha) clinched his fifth podium position on four wheels by finishing only 55 seconds behind Meyer (both compete in the Q1 Class).
Scholar Michael Pentecost (Kargo Racing Yamaha) added a sixth OR3 Class victory to his list and finished third overall. Pentecost, who finished 44 seconds behind his team-mate, Timmy Young, moved onto the podium when Young (he received the chequered flag just after Roberts) received a time penalty for speeding in the pits and dropped from third place back to seventh place overall. Young won the OR2 Class for the third time this season.
Charan Moore (Stoneridge Honda) and youngster Louw Schmidt (Brother Broadlink KTM) were involved in a tight battle with Moore finishing fourth (third in OR1), a mere 12 seconds ahead of Schmidt (fifth) who increased his lead in the OR4 (Under 21) Class by winning it for the fifth time this year. The Cape’s Wilhelm Schonfeldt (Helderberg Yamaha) finished second in OR4 with Taki Bogiages (Diamond Trailers KTM) third.
The competition was stiff and only seconds separated the riders after the dusty three-hour race that started in frosty and cold conditions. Schmidt’s team-mate, Juan ‘Bollie’ van Rooyen, finished 22 seconds behind him in sixth place with Jaycee Nienaber (Manhand Shimwells Yamaha) – like Schmidt and Pentecost also still a scholar – 13 seconds behind Young in eighth place (second in OR3). Young was again only 18 seconds ahead of Altus de Wet (Husqvarna Racing) with Roan Lindsay (Yamaha) rounding off the top ten and finishing second behind Young in OR2.
Only about five minutes separated the five riders just outside the top ten with Tyron Miller (Brother Broadlink KTM) 11th (third in OR2) Brandon Youell (Kargo Racing Yamaha) 12th and third in OR3; Wynand Kleynhans (Yamaha) 13th and Robin Hudson (KTM) 15th. Kobus Jonck (Bert Smith Racing Powered by RAD KTM) won the Senior Class and was 14th overall. His team-mate, Pieter Holl, currently leads the Senior Class Championship after he has claimed three victories this year, but Holl had to settle for second place behind his team-mate this time. Another team-mate, Paul Bothma, was fifth in this class while Justin Broughton (Kawasaki) finished third and Wayne Farmer (LCP Racing Gas Gas) fourth.
On four wheels former Junior Champion, Michael Wagner (Sabcool KTM) clinched his first podium position this season when he finished third (he was also third in Q1) despite racing some distance with a flat tyre. Jacques Struwig (Boesman Racing Suzuki) won the Senior Class and finished fourth overall (only 29 seconds behind Wagner) even though he had an uncomfortable race riding for some distance without a seat. Brian Baragwanath (BB Motorsport Lonestar PEP Yamaha), who is second behind Meyer and just ahead of Aylward on the overall standings, had to settle for fifth place after he lost time due to flat tyres.
The battle between Freddie Tajlaard (CHM Carriers Suzuki) and Rorke Millar (Can-Am Racing) continued with Taljaard finishing sixth and Millar just under two minutes behind him in eighth place. Damien Lee (Honda) was sandwiched between them.
Eric Williams (PS Storm Racing Honda) was not too far behind Millar in ninth place with Charles Lee (Bat Tyres Suzuki) claiming his best result of the season rounding off the top ten and finishing second in the Senior Class. The leader of the Senior Class Championship, Paul Chomse (PS Storm Racing Banshee), kept his lead even though he finished third in the class (he was 12th overall) at Rysmierbult.
Mikhail da Silva (Suzuki) was 11th overall, only three seconds ahead of the experienced Chomse who was followed by two more Senior Class competitors – Kobus Erasmus (Suzuki) was fourth in the class (he is still second behind Chomse in this championship) and finished 13th overall while Russell Ferreira (Team Diamond Trailers Honda) rounded off the top five in the Senior Class. Ferreira was 14th overall with Paul dos Santos (Factory Racing Suzuki) 15th overall and winning the Q2 Class for riders older than 28 years for the first time this season.
A second place in Q2 was enough for Justin Robert (Sign Wonder / Form & Fitness Suzuki) to take the lead in this class championship. Class leader Oz Osbourne (X Factor Sport / Factory Racing Yamaha) could not finish due to engine problems. Robert finished a mere 33 seconds behind Dos Santos and Hannes Annandale (Suzuki) rounded off the Q2 podium.
Jurie Meyer Snr (Yamaha Support) took his fourth victory in the Master Quad Class with newcomer, George Twigge (Can-Am) claiming second place after Tony dos Santos (Factory Racing Suzuki), who is chasing Meyer in this class championship, received a five minute penalty. Tony’s brother, Roxy, was fourth with Peter Schenk (Thesen’s Generators Honda) fifth after he raced 40 kilometres with a flat tyre.
Leon Gerber (Bert Smith Racing Powered by RAD KTM) took his third victory in the Master Bike Class and was followed by the current class leader, Martin Poole (Yamaha) with Willem Swiegers (Yamaha) third; Nicholas Kirk (KTM) fourth and Ray Lloyd (Yamaha) fifth.
Ceegan Laubscher (Manhand Shimwells Yamaha) took his second consecutive victory in the Silver Class Challenge for motorcycle competitors with his team-mate, Bradley Nortje, third. The current class leader, Mauritz Meiring (McGee Yamaha Lydenburg) finished second.
In this class for quad competitors, local Carletonville business woman, Liezel Barnard (Barnard Vervoer Can-Am) was the only finisher. She also won the Ladies Quad Class ahead of Adi du Plessis (Suzuki) who was second after she lost her starting position when she had to change a flat tyre before the start of the race.
On two wheels lady rider, Toni Jardine (Roost KTM) beat Taye Perry (Bert Smith Racing Powered by RAD KTM).
There was some bad luck for a few motorcycle riders including Chris Webster (Micks Motorcycles Yamaha); Nicholas Pienaar (C3 Roost KTM); Marc Torlage (Proudly Bidvest Yamaha) and Dillon Inggs (Naledi Motors Wesbank Racing KTM) who could not finish the race while quad rider Jaco Moller (Extreme ATV Tzaneen Yamaha) crashed and broke his collar bone.
The final round of the 2013 national championship will take place on 5 October at Ventersdorp.

Off-road Leaders Gilbert (bikes) and Meyer (quads) win again.doc (102kB)

Complete Release: Off-road Leaders Gilbert (bikes) and Meyer (quads) win (1,332kB)

 2 images

Tags | Zipped Releases | ET.Komm |