close   Events
open   Models
close   ABT
close   AC
close   ACD
close   Alfa
close   Alley
close   Aprilia
close   Ariel
close   Arrows
close   Ascari
close   Assegai
close   Audi
close   Austin
close   Bailey
close   BAR
close   Bentley
close   Bimota
close   Birkin
close   BMW
close   Brabham
close   Bristol
close   BSA
close   Bugatti
close   Capital
close   Chevron
close   Cobra
close   Cooper
close   Costin
close   Courage
close   Daewoo
close   Dallara
close   Datsun
close   DAW
close   Debora
close   Delage
close   Derbi
close   Dome
close   Ducati
close   Ducati
close   Duphet
close   Eagle
close   Elva
close   Elva
close   Ensign
close   ERA
close   Ferrari
close   Fiat
close   Ford
close   Formula
close   Gas Gas
close   Gilera
close   GMS
close   Grove
close   GSM
close   Hawke
close   Hesketh
close   Holden
close   Honda
close   Jaguar
close   Jordan
close   Kart
close   Kremer
close   KTM
close   Lagus
close   Lancia
close   Lazer
close   Lenham
close   Lola
close   Lotus
close   Maki
close   MAN
close   March
close   Marcos
close   Matra
close   Matrix
close   Mazda
close   MBR
close   McLaren
close   Merlyn
close   MG
close   MGB
close   Miller
close   MINI
close   Mitter
close   Modenas
close   Morgan
close   Morris
close   Mygale
close   Napier
close   Nissan
close   Norton
close   NRE
close   NSU
close   Omega
close   Opel
close   Panhard
close   Panoz
close   Panther
close   Peugeot
close   Pilbeam
close   Porsche
close   Protea
close   Proton
close   Ray
close   Renault
close   Reynard
close   Reynard
close   Rhema
close   Rondeau
close   Rover
close   Royale
close   Rudge
close   Saleen
close   SASCAR
close   Scott
close   Seat
close   Shadow
close   Shelby
close   Spirit
close   Spyker
close   Sting
close   Subaru
close   Sunbeam
close   Surtees
close   Suzuki
close   Swift
close   Thrust
close   Titan
close   Toyota
close   Triumph
close   TVR
close   Tyrrell
close   Vision
close   Volvo
close   WesBank
close   WPP
close   WR
open   Yamaha
close   Zetec
close   Marine
close   People

document : Dream Donaldson Cross Country Championship return for Visser

Dream Donaldson Cross Country Championship return for Visser
information supplied by: Cross Country Commission (Media) 13 September 2014


Vryburg, Saturday – Former South African champion Chris Visser made a dream return to the Production Vehicle category in the Donaldson Cross Country Championship, when he and Atlas Copco Ford Racing team-mate, Japie Badenhorst, won the Vryburg 450, round six of the series, here today.

Visser was making his first appearance of the season after neck surgery for an injury sustained on the Dakar Rally earlier this year, and once again linked up with regular co-driver Badenhorst. The pair gave the factory Atlas Copco Ford Racing team their second win of the season, and finished a slender 21 seconds ahead of championship leaders Anthony Taylor and Dennis Murphy, in the works Team Castrol Toyota Hilux.

It was a stunning return to action for Visser with his cousin, Malcolm Kock, and Johann Burger taking the final place on the podium in the Kock and Son Toyota Hilux. Local lads Kock and Burger were making their second appearance of the season, and revelled in home town conditions.

“There is not much I can say,” said Visser. “It was a dream result, but it got a little tight towards the finish.
“It was just great to be back in the car, and a win was a bonus.”

For Taylor and Murphy a conservative approach earned them some breathing space in both the overall and premier Class T championships. The Team Castrol Toyota Hilux pair went into the weekend with a slender three point lead over Mpumalanga brothers Johan and Werner Horn (Malalane Toyota Hilux), in the overall standings.

After a troubled qualifying race the Horns fought back well to finish eighth overall and sixth in class. It provided some damage control but, with two events left, handed the advantage to Taylor and Murphy.

“After our hiccup on the Force Fuel 450 were not taking any chances,” said Taylor. “From a championship point of view it was a good result for us.”

An impressive display by Kock and Burger saw them finish 23 seconds clear of North West youngsters Jason Venter and Vince van Allemann (4x4 Mega World Toyota Hilux) who came up with an equally impressive drive to finish in the top five for the first time. Venter and van Allemann were well clear of Leeroy Poulter and Rob Howie, in the second factory Toyota Hilux, who also recovered well after a disappointing qualifying race.

Venter also claimed bragging rights over his father, Deon, was sixth overall and first in Class S with Jaco van Aardt in the 4x4 Mega World Toyota Hilux. Venter senior and van Aardt were well clear of veteran former SA champions Jannie Visser and Joks le Roux, in the Ruwacon Racing Toyota Hilux.

Visser and le Roux, however, tightened the screws on championship leaders and team-mates Louw de Bruin and Riaan Greyling (Ford Ranger) in the Class S standings. An ultra fast route with long straights left the diesel powered Ford at a distinct disadvantage, with the pair holding on for sixth in class.

The Horns trailed in behind Visser and le Roux, and were followed by Etienne Nienaber and Dewald Ferreira (Toyota Hilux) who were third in Class S in their first season on national competition. They were then hit with a 35 minute penalty that dropped them way down the pecking order.

That lifted the ever steady Terence Marsh and actress Hlubi Mboya, competing in the Imperial Auto Celebrity Challenge, into ninth place in the Regent Racing Nissan Navara. After a highly disappointing run of results Christiaan du Plooy and Henk Janse van Vuuren (RFS Ford Ranger), also found themselves elevated into the top 10.

Class D saw qualifying race winners Dewald and Anton Nienaber, in a Toyota Land Cruiser, take a comfortable win ahead of Diederik Hattingh and Gary Austin in a Ford Ranger. The Nienabers were always in control, with Hattingh/Austin on the back foot after problems in the qualifying race.

A third win in a row took Gareth Woolridge, in a Polaris, to the top of the new Class G standings ahead of Brian Capper in the Regent Racing Polaris. Woolridge’s co-driver, Boyd Dreyer, is also closing in on Jaco Swart, who sits alongside Capper, in the navigator standings.

The route and high temperatures took a heavy toll on the Class G brigade. Chris Wood and Peet Markram, in another Polaris, were the only other finishers, and were more than 50 minutes behind Woolridge and Dreyer.

Follow the Donaldson Cross Country Championship action on:
Dream Donaldson Cross Country Championship return for Visser.pdf (237kB)

 4 images

Tags | Motorsport | Cross Country Commission (Media) |