close   Events
open   Models
close   ABT
close   AC
close   ACD
close   Alfa
close   Alley
close   Aprilia
close   Ariel
close   Arrows
close   Ascari
close   Assegai
close   Audi
close   Austin
close   Bailey
close   BAR
close   Bentley
close   Bimota
close   Birkin
close   BMW
close   Brabham
close   Bristol
close   BSA
close   Bugatti
close   Capital
close   Chevron
close   Cobra
close   Cooper
close   Costin
close   Courage
close   Daewoo
close   Dallara
close   Datsun
close   DAW
close   Debora
close   Delage
close   Derbi
close   Dome
close   Ducati
close   Ducati
close   Duphet
close   Eagle
close   Elva
close   Elva
close   Ensign
close   ERA
close   Ferrari
close   Fiat
close   Ford
close   Formula
close   Gas Gas
close   Gilera
close   GMS
close   Grove
close   GSM
close   Hawke
close   Hesketh
close   Holden
close   Honda
close   Jaguar
close   Jordan
close   Kart
close   Kremer
close   KTM
close   Lagus
close   Lancia
close   Lazer
close   Lenham
close   Lola
close   Lotus
close   Maki
close   MAN
close   March
close   Marcos
close   Matra
close   Matrix
close   Mazda
close   MBR
close   McLaren
close   Merlyn
close   MG
close   MGB
close   Miller
close   MINI
close   Mitter
close   Modenas
close   Morgan
close   Morris
close   Mygale
close   Napier
close   Nissan
close   Norton
close   NRE
close   NSU
close   Omega
close   Opel
close   Panhard
close   Panoz
close   Panther
close   Peugeot
close   Pilbeam
close   Porsche
close   Protea
close   Proton
close   Ray
close   Renault
close   Reynard
close   Reynard
close   Rhema
close   Rondeau
close   Rover
close   Royale
close   Rudge
close   Saleen
close   SASCAR
close   Scott
close   Seat
close   Shadow
close   Shelby
close   Spirit
close   Spyker
close   Sting
close   Subaru
close   Sunbeam
close   Surtees
close   Suzuki
close   Swift
close   Thrust
close   Titan
close   Toyota
close   Triumph
close   TVR
close   Tyrrell
close   Vision
close   Volvo
close   WesBank
close   WPP
close   WR
open   Yamaha
close   Zetec
close   Marine
close   People

document : Special Vehicle leaders win Vryburg 450 Qualifying Race

Special Vehicle leaders win Vryburg 450 Qualifying Race
information supplied by: Cross Country Commission (Media) 12 September 2014


Vryburg, Friday – Championship leaders Quintin and Kallie Sullwald won the Special Vehicle category qualifying race that produced some up and down results at the Vryburg 450, round six of the Donaldson Cross Country Championship, here today.

The Sullwald father and son combination, in the Elegant Fuel BAT Venom, suffered an alternator problem from the start of the 100 kilometre route, but managed to open up a gap of 27 seconds over former champions Evan Hutchison and Danie Stassen in the Motorite Racing BAT Viper. After a disappointing season this weekend is make or break for Hutchison and Stassen – but behind them is where the fun started.

A gap of six minutes and 25 seconds separated Force Fuel 450 winners Laurence du Plessis and Gielie le Roux, in a Zarco, and the race winners. Sandwiched between first and third were no fewer than 10 Production Vehicle entries.
“The route is sandy and very fast, and we were worried thought by an alternator problem,” said Kallie Sullwald. “So far so good, but it is going to be a hot and dusty race.”

Temperatures were peaking in the late 30s and added to the difficulty factor for crews. Hutchison and Stassen reported a clean run with the reigning champions commenting that it was about time they deserved a little luck.

Fourth were Class P leaders John Thomson and Maurice Zermatten (Zarco) with the pair also the first Class P crew to cross the finish line. Behind them KwaZulu-Natal crew Daniel Brookes and Gavan Gray were a steady fifth in the Ducatis Property BAT, but they were a whopping seven minutes and 57 seconds behind the Sullwalds.

Sixth went to Gerhard du Plessis and his teenage son Hardus, in a Jimco, with a five minute penalty not doing their day any good. Without the penalty they would have significantly closed their six minute and 25 second gap on the leaders.

Next up were Botswana crew Keith du Toit and former S1600 SA National Rally Champion Robbie Coetzee, who was having his first taste of cross country racing. The Botswana pair were around three minutes clear of Andre Fourie and Hendriekus Pienaar (PHB BAT) with the North West pair finishing ahead of James Watson/John Thompson (BAT) with the KZN crew the second Class P crew home.

Veterans Rob Wark and Ashley Thorn (K9 Racing Aceco), who will have fond memories of Vryburg when it hosted the Total Trans Kalahari and Toyota Desert Race in years gone by, completed the top 10 and were on the Class P podium. Wark is a former Toyota Desert Race winner in a singleseater.

Race headquarters, the start/finish and designated service park are all located at the Vryburg Moto Club, on the outskirts of the town, with the race scheduled to start at 08:00. Public entry to race headquarters and spectator viewing points along the route is free of charge.

Follow the Donaldson Cross Country Championship action on:
Special Vehicle leaders win Vryburg 450 Qualifying Race.pdf (234kB)

 4 images

Tags | Motorsport | Cross Country Commission (Media) |