close   Events
open   Models
close   ABT
close   AC
close   ACD
close   Alfa
close   Alley
close   Aprilia
close   Ariel
close   Arrows
close   Ascari
close   Assegai
close   Audi
close   Austin
close   Bailey
close   BAR
close   Bentley
close   Bimota
close   Birkin
close   BMW
close   Brabham
close   Bristol
close   BSA
close   Bugatti
close   Capital
close   Chevron
close   Cobra
close   Cooper
close   Costin
close   Courage
close   Daewoo
close   Dallara
close   Datsun
close   DAW
close   Debora
close   Delage
close   Derbi
close   Dome
close   Ducati
close   Ducati
close   Duphet
close   Eagle
close   Elva
close   Elva
close   Ensign
close   ERA
close   Ferrari
close   Fiat
close   Ford
close   Formula
close   Gas Gas
close   Gilera
close   GMS
close   Grove
close   GSM
close   Hawke
close   Hesketh
close   Holden
close   Honda
close   Jaguar
close   Jordan
close   Kart
close   Kremer
close   KTM
close   Lagus
close   Lancia
close   Lazer
close   Lenham
close   Lola
close   Lotus
close   Maki
close   MAN
close   March
close   Marcos
close   Matra
close   Matrix
close   Mazda
close   MBR
close   McLaren
close   Merlyn
close   MG
close   MGB
close   Miller
close   MINI
close   Mitter
close   Modenas
close   Morgan
close   Morris
close   Mygale
close   Napier
close   Nissan
close   Norton
close   NRE
close   NSU
close   Omega
close   Opel
close   Panhard
close   Panoz
close   Panther
close   Peugeot
close   Pilbeam
close   Porsche
close   Protea
close   Proton
close   Ray
close   Renault
close   Reynard
close   Reynard
close   Rhema
close   Rondeau
close   Rover
close   Royale
close   Rudge
close   Saleen
close   SASCAR
close   Scott
close   Seat
close   Shadow
close   Shelby
close   Spirit
close   Spyker
close   Sting
close   Subaru
close   Sunbeam
close   Surtees
close   Suzuki
close   Swift
close   Thrust
close   Titan
close   Toyota
close   Triumph
close   TVR
close   Tyrrell
close   Vision
close   Volvo
close   WesBank
close   WPP
close   WR
open   Yamaha
close   Zetec
close   Marine
close   People

document : Special Vehicle lottery at Vryburg 450

Special Vehicle lottery at Vryburg 450
information supplied by: Cross Country Commission (Media) 07 September 2014

Sullwalds defending a precious lead

The Special Vehicle championship has turned into something of a lottery and someone needs to pull a winning ticket out of the hat at the Vryburg 450, round six of the Donaldson Cross Country Championship, in North West province on September 12 and 13.

Current championship leaders Quintin and Kallie Sullwald, in the Elegant Fuel BAT Venom, take to the race a precious 29 point lead over Gerhard du Plessis and his teenage son Hardus in a Jimco of advancing vintage. Behind the du Plessis pairing only 14 points separate the next four drivers in the overall and premier Class A championship standings.

However, the championship is in a state of flux and it is a measure of the delicate state of affairs that for some drivers in the top six it is a case of championship survival or come back and try again next year. Reigning champions Evan Hutchison and Danie Stassen, currently fifth in the standings, are a perfect example.

Hutchison and Stassen have retired from three of the five events so far, and have not scored a win this season. A win in Vryburg and a little help from other results would, however, give them a glimmer of hope of back to back championships.

Just nine points separate Gerhard and Hardus du Plessis from Arthur Barnes/Anthony Usher (BAT), who missed the Force Fuel 450 and will also be sitting out this event, and Laurence du Plessis and Gielie le Roux in a Zarco. A good haul of points will certainly be on the agenda for the Force Fuel 450 winners and the Vryburg outing, with cross country racing returning to its roots, could set up a tremendous climax to the season over the two remaining events.

For the Sullwalds, however, the name of the game is consolidation. A win for the pair would be a bonus, but they are far too experienced to flirt with danger.

The Sullwalds will also be aware that they have two non finishes to their name and a third one – with crews having to drop an event at the end of the season, could be costly. They and the other top runners will also have to contend with a number of crews who could be described as dangerous floaters.

Chief among them will be Colin Matthews and Rodney Burke in the Century Racing CR3. A puncture hit their hopes of a second successive Sun City win, but the pair have the pace to put a few Class A noses out of joint.

Among those that could cause surprises are Brett Parker and VZ van Zyl (Sizanani Plastics Jimco), on a high after a podium on the Force Fuel 450, the Republic of Congo brothers Eduardo and Riccardo Argazzi, in a BAT, and Lance Trethewey and Geoff Minnitt in the Mortimer Toyota BAT.

If they see out the full race distance Matthews and Burke are likely to run away with the Class P honours. The pair are in third place in the championship but 39 points behind Class P crew James Watson and John Thompson in a BAT, and have some leeway to make up.

A disappointing Force Fuel 450 outing saw Watson and Thompson fall nine points behind reigning champions John Thomson and Maurice Zermatten, in a Zarco, and their battle could also have a telling affect on the final championship outcome. There is also plenty other opposition in the form of Sean Reitz/Michael Abramson (Regent Racing Jimco), Nic Goslar/Andrew Massey (SA Clinics Zarco), Keith Makenete and Moalosi Borotho in the CRC Zarco, Rob Wark/Ashley Thorn (K9 Raceco) and the evergreen Coetzee Labuscagne and daughter Sandra in the Chemsystems Zarco.

Race headquarters, the start/finish and the designated service park will all be located at the Vryburg Motor Club. Entrance is free.

The qualifying event to determine grid positions will start at 11:30 on Friday, September 12 with the race starting at 8:00 on Saturday.

Follow the Donaldson Cross Country Championship action on:
Special Vehicle lottery at Vryburg 450.pdf (236kB)

 4 images

Tags | Motorsport | Cross Country Commission (Media) |