document : Heavyweight crews enter Dakar Challenge

Heavyweight crews enter Dakar Challenge
information supplied by: Cross Country Commission (Media) 22 June 2014


Some heavyweight crews from the Production and Special Vehicle categories will be chasing a free entry into next year’s Dakar Rally – via the Dakar Challenge to be run in conjunction with the Toyota Kalahari Botswana 1000 Desert Race from June 27 t0 29.

In one of the richest prizes in South African motorsport, the Dakar Challenge winners will be given a free entry to the South American classic. The winners of an invitation motorcycle race on June 28 and 29, organised by Botswana Motorsport, will also win a free entry into the Dakar Rally.

South Africa is one of only three countries to form part of the Dakar Challenge which brings additional prestige to the Toyota 1000 Desert Race. The event is again the halfway point in the eight-round Donaldson Cross Country Championship.

Topping the list of Production Vehicle entries are the Atlas Copco Ford Racing pair of Gary Bertholdt and Siegfried Rousseau, and Regent Racing Nissan Navara crews Terence Marsh/ Stefan Terblanche and Mike Whitehouse/George Myburgh. Springbok rugby legend Terblanche is also competing in the Imperial Auto Celebrity challenge, and the Botswana outing is his third cross country race.

Tough competition for the Atlas Copco Ford Racing and Regent Racing crews will come from fellow Class T campaigners Jason Venter and Vince van Allemann (4x4 Mega World Toyota Hilux) and Hennie de Klerk and Johann Smalberger in the RFS/Treasury One BMW X3. Venter’s father, Deon, and Ian Palmer have also thrown their hats into the ring in a second 4x4 Mega World Toyota Hilux, with the pair currently leading the Class S championship.

Reigning South African champions Evan Hutchison and Danie Stassen (Motorite BAT Viper) lead the Special Vehicle challenge. After two non finishes the Motorite pair will be looking to take advantage of the double points on offer for the race, and a win that would see them on the way to South America.

Also in the frame will be other Class A crews in Botswana pair Keith du Toit/Xander Mare (White Star racing BAT), Capetonian Derick du Toit and Craig Gray (CRC BAT) and Republic of Congo brothers Eduardo and Riccardo Argazzi in a BAT.

The Class P challenge will be in the hands of reigning champions John Thomson and Maurice Zermatten (Zarco), and the Century Racing CR3 pair of Colin Matthews and Rodney Burke.

Race headquarters, the start/finish and the designated service park will all be located at the Jwaneng Sports Complex and surrounding showground area. There will restricted access to these areas, with free public entry to spectator points along the route.
Heavyweight crews enter Dakar Challenge.pdf (375kB)

2014 TDR 1000 Dakar Challenge Entry list 22 June.pdf (355kB)

 1 images

Tags | Motorsport | Cross Country Commission (Media) |