document : Dusty duels at Neil Woolridge Motors/ Pumpsmith Dalton 250

Dusty duels at Neil Woolridge Motors/ Pumpsmith Dalton 250
information supplied by: Cross Country Commission (Media) 19 September 2011


A thrilling Neil Woolridge Motors/Pumpsmith Dalton 250 Off road Race held on Saturday in and around Dalton, KZN, has set the scene for a nail biting climax to the 2011 KZN Off Road Championship next month.

Many of the fancied championship runners experienced problems in both the Donaldson/Vehicle Protection Services Prologue and the main race despite the dusty route being fast and smooth.

First overall and first in class A, as well as winning the prologue in Class A, was Arthur Barnes/Anthony Usher (BAT) after a trouble-free run and now lead the A championship on 86 points ahead of second place finisher Clint Gibson/Kevin Theron (Porter)(79 points). Third place in the race was taken by Lance Trethewey/Carl Wichmann (BAT) who once again started at the back of the grid for the main race after fanbelt problems in the prologue and stormed their way through the field.

Trethewey now has 73 points, 3 points behind former championship leader Reg Sutton who retired with overheating problems.

In a fine 4th place overall and top of Class B was Rob Spencer/Ralph Francis (Zarco) just one minute ahead of Graeme Petersen (Dragonfly) with Quentin and Mark Bell 3rd.

Spencer moves within 2 points of championship leader James Watson who struggled with engine problems and finally blew the engine in spectacular fashion as he crossed the finish line. Navigator Francis has an unassailable lead in the co-driver championship but Petersen is only 7 points adrift of Spencer so these three drivers have everything to go for in the last race on 22 October.

Manfred Schroder won the prologue section for Class B but fell out 6 kms into the race with sideshaft failure.

Andrew Scott took his first win of 2011 in the Cricket class ahead of Dave Confait with Gareth Woolridge third. Woolridge still holds on to his lead in the championship after surviving an off road excursion that left him planted in the sugar-cane. Roger Currin took prologue honours but failed to finish the race.


Overall/Class A
1. Arthur Barnes/Anthony Usher 3.26.38
2. Clint Gibson/Kevin Theron 3.30.05
3. Lance Trethewey/Carl Wichmann 3.41.54

Class B
1. Rob Spencer/Ralph Francis 3.45.30
2. Graeme Petersen 3.46.34
3. Quentin Bell/Mark Bell 3.58.06

1. Andrew Scott 3.06.40
2 Dave Confait 3.12.27
3. Gareth Woolridge 3.14.02

 2 images

Tags | Cross Country Commission (Media) | Motorsport |